The Loftstel

I’ve been meaning to write a post about my living experiences in a hostel, but I let procrastination get the best of me. However, it’s better late than never. So, here are some things that I wanted to share:

I remember the extensive research process I underwent in order to find a hostel that would be safe. Originally, I had planned to sublet an apartment, or find some friends to temporarily rent an apartment with for the summer. Neither of the two worked out, so I resorted to staying at a hostel.

Before moving into the Loftstel, I stayed with my friend in the Heights for nearly a week, and I really settled into his apartment and treated it as if it were our own. Thus, the thought of having to relocate –1. to Bedstuy, 2. to an apartment full of strangers– freaked me out! When my friend came with me to the loftstel he tried hard to unwrap the fears that consumed me,but I was still scared.

After a couple hours–not even a couple days– I met some really nice people who invited me to go to the bar with them and we went. It was great!

Anyhow, now is where I get to the thesis of this post. My summer experience living at the Bedstuy Loftstel was amazing! I really learned how to survive in an environment filled with diverse people. I made friends with people from all over the world: a guy from France, a couple from Germany, a girl from Switzerland, a group from Baltimore, etc. I learned to accept and respect the various perspectives and cultural backgrounds that each person brought to the Loft. I suppose the main strength I gained from my summer living experience was the ability to get to know people without passing judgment on them, and furthermore use my assumptions as valid reasons as to why friendships cannot be forged.

I also learned another value of patience, especially when it came to language barriers. When communicating with my friends who were from other countries, I would constantly remind myself to be patient and understanding because of the fact that shortly I would be in their predicament. I would be an American in Italy trying to express myself without having any prior knowledge of how to speak the Italian language. It’s important to be patient and empathetic because you never know when you’ll have to rely on the returned gesture.

__________

Click on the pictures to make bigger

Leave a Reply

